Knight of Cups

In our work with the Knight of Cups, we are primarily bringing him (her?) into relationship with the 8th Arcanum, Justice. In terms of practice, this is related to the upward stream from the right shoulder (Peace) to the right side of the head (Light), the quality of Balance, and the Hebrew letter Chet. It is also related to the 8th portion of the Grail Knight’s Practice: “Forgive us our trespasses as we forgive those who trespass against us”, specifically the 2nd level of trespass (Desire) which is healed by the second level of communion (Honey) and the second healing miracle (the Nobleman’s Son).

We continue to invoke our conversations with the mantra SHE FEELS in the region of the heart, as well as the second portion of the Inner Radiance Sequence (the seven stages of the Passion).

We are also reading from Revelation 17: 16-18, and 18: 1-6:

“And the ten horns that you saw, and the beast, these will hate the whore, and will render her desolate and naked, and will eat her fleshes, and will consume her with fire; For God placed it in their hearts to accomplish his purpose, and to accomplish a single purpose, and to give their kingdom to the beast, until God’s words shall be completed. And the woman whom you saw is the great city that holds reign over the kings of the earth.”

Thereafter I saw another angel descending out of heaven who had great authority, and the earth was illuminated by his glory. And he cried out in a mighty voice, saying, “Fallen, fallen, Babylon the Great, and she has become a habitation of daemonic beings and a prison for every impure spirit and a prison for every bird that is impure [and a prison for every beast that is impure] and detested, Because all the gentiles have drunk of the wine of the vehemence of her whoring, and the kings of the earth have whored with her, and the merchants of the earth have grown rich from her power and wanton luxuriance.” And I heard another voice out of heaven saying, “Come out of her, my people, so that you might not share communion in her sins, and might not suffer any of her calamities, For her sins have been heaped up to heaven, and God has remembered her injustices. Requite her even as she has requited, and redouble it, twice times her own deeds; in the cup she has mixed, mix twice as much for her.”

Conversation—Part One

Conversation—Part Two

Conversation—Part Three

Knave of Cups

A somewhat different approach: I will leave some initial impressions here, and then anyone is free to contribute via the comments…

The conversation is now open…

We begin by placing this image in the context of the entirety of the Suit of Cups, focusing the mantra SHE FEELS on the region of the heart. The reader is then encouraged to move the second part of the Inner Radiance Sequence, beginning with the mantra “In purest love for all that lives radiates the Godhood of my soul”, and then working through the chakras from crown to root in relation to the seven Stages of the Passion and the seven Words from the Cross.

We then bring the Knave of Cups into relation with the 9th Letter of the Divine Alphabet: Tet; the Ninth Arcanum: The Hermit…

…and the quality of “Conscience.” This finds its radiation in the Tree of Life between the sephiroth on the right shoulder (Peace) and the left shoulder (Activity). Those who know the Grail Knight’s Practice can then perform the 9th part: the third level of trespass (disobedience and grasping) that is overcome by the third healing miracle (the healing of the paralysed man) and the third level of communion (the strengthening quality of milk).

The Apocalypse readings for the Knave of Cups come from Chapter 17:7-15:

And the angel said to me, “Why were you astonished? I shall tell you the mystery of the woman and of the beast that bears her, the one that has the seven heads and the ten horns. The beast that you saw was, and is not, and is about to rise from the abyss, and is going to destruction; and they who dwell on the earth, whose name has not been written in the book of life from the foundation of the cosmos, will be astonished on seeing that the beast was and is not and will presently be. Here is the mind possessed of wisdom: the seven heads are seven mountains, there where the woman sits upon them, and are seven kings. The five have fallen, the one is, the other has not yet come, and when he has come he must remain for a little while. And the beast that was and is not, he is himself also an eighth, and is one of the seven, and goes to destruction. And the ten horns that you saw are ten kings who have not yet received a kingdom, but receive authority as kings along with the beast for one hour. These have a single resolve, and they give their power and authority to the beast. These will wage a war with the suckling lamb and the suckling lamb will conquer them, because he is Lord of lords and King of kings, and those with him are called and chosen and faithful.” And he says to me, “The waters that you saw, where the whore sits, are peoples and crowds and nations and tongues.”

In our work with the Major Arcana, we experienced the journey from the Magician to the World as a journey from conception, to birth, to death, and finally to the Saturn sphere. With the Minor Arcana, we have been imagining them as the journey back into incarnation: the Numbered Coins as the realm of Midnight Hour; the Court Coins as the Saturn sphere; the Numbered Swords as the Jupiter sphere; the Court Swords as the Mars sphere; and the Numbered Cups as the Sun sphere. We have been considering this journey of the soul into incarnation in relation to the musical pieces selected for the Sophia Grail Circle of the same name. With the Knave of Cups, we enter into the Venus sphere on the path of incarnation. The music selected by Robert Powell to express this experience of the Venus sphere is the Beethoven’s Violin Concerto in D major, op. 61, movement II:

Notes to formal conversations can be found below; again, however, I encourage all readers to take advantage of the comments section to have an extended, virtual “conversation” around the Knave of Cups.

Conversation—Part One

Conversation—Part Two

Conversation—Part Three